Education System

New Zealand is known for its academic excellence, experienced faculties, globally recognized qualifications, brilliant teaching approach and abundant research opportunities. The New Zealand government has drawn up a framework know as ‘New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF)’ to ensure that the quality being offered at the various education levels in the country is maintained.

New Zealand has 8 funded universities that offer higher degree-level education, 16 Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs) offering vocational courses degree and over 700 Private Training Establishments (PTEs) offering certificates or diplomas. The highest level of education and qualifications at all levels is provided by the universities which offers both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.

Qualifications offered

Below are the levels and qualifications as per New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF):

Level 5Certificates and Diplomas1 to 2 years
Level 6Certificates and Diplomas1 to 2 years
Level 7Graduate Certificates1 year
Level 7Graduate Diplomas1 year
Level 7Bachelor’s Degrees3 to 4 years
Level 8Postgraduate Certificates1 year
Level 8Postgraduate Diplomas1 year
Level 8Bachelor’s Honours Degrees1 year
Level 9Master’s Degrees2 year
Level 10Doctoral Degrees3 to 4 years